News, Politics

IT IS OFFICIAL!!! Senator Bukola Saraki, Has Been Defeated In The Feb. 23 Elections

Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, will not return to the Senate, in June 2019, as he has lost the Kwara Central Senatorial District election, to Ibrahim Oloriegbe of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Saraki, who ran on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, lost out in each of the four Local Governments in the District: Ilorin South, Ilorin West, Ilorin East, and Asa.

In Ilorin South, Oloriegbe polled 26,331 votes, while Saraki secured 13,013 votes. In Ilorin West, Oloriegbe polled 51,531 votes, to Saraki’s 30,075 votes. In Ilorin East, he got 30,014 votes, while Saraki had 14,654 votes; and in Asa, Oloriegbe polled 15,932 votes, while Saraki got 11,252 votes.

In total, Ibrahim Oloriegbe secured 72,277 votes, while Saraki polled 38,919 votes, meaning Saraki lost out by a whopping 33,358 votes


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.